Skip navigation

So this installment of Mr. & Mrs X will be the first but it is the most recent so it’s a little out-of-order. It all goes back to Wed Feb 3 2010, when the water main for our street broke. This resulted in us not having clean water for a few days, so thursday the water comes on, but a main on the other street so off goes the water again. Friday comes and I head off to Halifax to pick up some diving gear, I return home roughly around 5 pm and the water in the tub is running. I yell through the house to see who is home and what is happening with the water….no one is home. So i check the tub and its running dirty water, I check on the work crew’s progress and they are filling in the hole for the broken water main.

Success our water is fixed! But why is the tub running with no one home? Did they gamble that they could let it clean the pipes out and go to work, and when I came home I could turn it off? What if I didn’t come home when I did? What if there was enough dirt and such to stop the drain and flood the tub? All these questions valid but I was home so problem solved. I continue through the house turning on the other cold water taps to help clean out the pipes. Shortly the water is crystal clear, and I work my way back to the tub. I reach over to turn off the cold water, but it’s already off… so its clear to me that for some reason they decided to turn the hot water on. I thought to myself that this was done to clean out the hot water tank that must have become tainted during all the fixing. So I turn of the tap and head to the breaker panel to turn the water heater back on…. it’s already on…. clearly I have given Mr. and Mrs. X too much credit. Now I am stuck wondering how long have they been running the water, and how long has the heater been trying to heat water that is running endlessly. Does the water heater even work? Has this ruined the elements? Later I turn on the hot water and its hot, hallelujah! My moron house mates haven’t ruined life.

Saturday I worked and avoided the two failed abortions, sunday I was at my boss’s for the Super Bowl. Today I come home and question Mrs. X on whose idea it was to leave the water running and then leaving for work. She looks at me as if she just had a mild explosive device go off in her brain (à la Mission Impossible 3) and asks what I am talking about. I explain to her what I found when I came home to an empty house on friday night, still doesn’t have an answer. So I leave her to stew in her stupidity and return to my room. About 10 minutes later Mrs. X knocks on my door with an explanation for these less than advised actions.

Apparently to the stunned Mrs. X she was in the shower when the city workers turned it off to finish the pipe. Thats right, upon running out of water  Mrs. X just walk away from the tub and goes about her day and leaves for work never once turning of the tap she had obviously turned on to have a shower. So I am left with a situation that goes from an unadvised gamble on making efficient use of time to clean the pipes to an incident involving a woman who, as far as I can tell her body clearly excommunicated her brain.

